Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
 

English Literature e-Resources

Journal Articles

print source     online source
Go To: Major Article Databases for English Language and Literature | Canada | Classical Studies | Humanities | Interdisciplinary | Medieval Studies | Nineteenth Century Studies |

Major Article Databases for English Language and Literature

1. MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) e-resources

Covering 1963 to the present, MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.



2. ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) e-resources

Compiled under the auspices of the Modern Humanities Research Association, ABELL aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral theses published anywhere in the world. Covering the period from 1920 to the present, ABELL now lists 812,000 records and includes full text articles from 117 journals.



3. FRANCIS (Humanities and Social Sciences) e-resources

FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information, with 63% of the 4,000 journals indexed covering the humanities. It is strong in literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. FRANCIS represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Updated monthly, coverage is from 1984 to the present.



Canada

CBCA Complete e-resources

CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from current Canadian journals, newspapers and other media (such as newswires, broadcast transcripts and new book announcements). Subject coverage includes current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) e-resources

CPI.Q provides comprehensive Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Gale Group, all with a Canadian focus. All subject areas are represented, with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries. Indexed periodical coverage is from 1988 to the present, while full text periodical coverage is from 1995 to the present. The database is updated weekly. Print volumes from 1921 to the present are located in the General Reference Department, Robarts Library.



Index To Pre-1900 English Language Canadian Cultural & Literary Magazines (Available on local CD-ROM) e-resources

This CD indexes 190 early Canadian magazines whose contents dealt mainly with cultural, intellectual and literary concerns. Each entry identifies a particular magazine item (poem, story, article, illustration, editorial), and provides notation on genre, general subject and first-line for poetry. Magazines indexed include well-known titles, shorter-run titles and most of the university monthly publications. Available in the General Reference Department, Robarts Library.



Libris Canadiana e-resources
Indexes the following Canadian magazines from the 19th Century through the early to mid-20th Century. Titles include:
  • Annotated Index to the Canadian Bookman, 1909-1910; 1915; 1919-1939;
  • Annotated Index to the Canadian Magazine, 1893-1910;
  • Index to Maclean's Magazine, 1905-1976;
  • Annotated Index to Massey's Magazine, 1896-1897;
  • Index to the Monetary Times of Canada, 1867-1929;
  • Index to Saturday Night, 1887-1945; and,
  • Annotated Index to the University Magazine, 1901-1920.


Classical Studies

L'Année philologique e-resources

This index lists information regarding all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity. It is useful for finding material published in the areas of Greek and Roman literature, mythology, early Christian texts, papyrology and epigraphy. Its coverage begins in the second millennium BC and ends with the transitional period between late antiquity and the Middle Ages (500-800 AD). The database includes 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001.



Humanities

British Humanities Index (BHI) e-resources

BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Subject coverage includes film, literature, poetry, and theatre. Date coverage is 1962 to present.



Humanities Abstracts (Wilson) e-resources

Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals, covering literature, film, classical studies, folklore, among several other disciplines. There are well over 300,000 records dating back to 1984, with 32,000 added annually through monthly updates.



Interdisciplinary

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Part of Web of Science.) e-resources

This is one of three citation indexes included in the Web of Science database. The three can be searched separately or together. Arts and Humanities indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, adding some 2,300 new articles and 15,250 new cited references per week. University of Toronto subscribes to complete coverage from 1945 to the present. Disciplines include folklore, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, film and theatre.



Essay & General Literature Index (Wilson) e-resources

Covering 1985 to the present, this is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. In addition, more than 20 annuals and serial publications are indexed. With focus on the humanities and social sciences, subjects covered include criticism of literary works, drama and film.



Google Scholar e-resources

Still in beta, Google Scholar searches across scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines; however, some journal publishers, such as Elsevier, do not permit their journals to be crawled.

You may occasionally be asked to pay for an article. Before doing so, please check to see if the journal is available at the University of Toronto Library:

You can also enable linking to the University of Toronto Library holdings from Google Scholar. To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from an on-campus location of a participating library, and Google Scholar will automatically include these links. Or, follow these steps:
  • Click on Scholar Preferences.
  • Type ‘University of Toronto‘ in the 'Library Links' section.
  • Click Save preferences.
  • Start searching with links to your library's resources (you may need to authenticate yourself to access these resources).



International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ) = Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur e-resources

This international, interdisciplinary European bibliography of academic periodical literature gives "special attention" to the humanities in German, French and English. There are over two million records, which are added to monthly, and coverage is from 1983 to the present. The print version (1896 to the present) is located in the General Reference Department of the Robarts Library.



Periodicals Archive Online e-resources

Allows you to search the full-text of over 400 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences that have been indexed in the sister database Periodicals Index Online. Some of the digitized journal content goes as far back as the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.



Periodicals Index Online e-resources

Periodicals Index Online allows you to search almost 16 million citations (over 4,500 periodicals) in the humanities and social sciences. Alternatively, you may wish to restrict your searching to the over 400 full-text journals digitised in the sister database Periodicals Archive Online.



Scholars Portal Search e-resources

A unique interdisciplinary search engine covering the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural and health sciences, and technology. Scholars Portal is extraordinary not only in the quantity of scholarly content covered, but also in its quality, as it includes the major databases for many disciplines. Over 90 databases can be searched simultaneously; or by broad subject area, for example, humanities; or by pre-selected subject areas, for example, linguistics databases; or by individually selected databases. The following databases may be of interest to researchers of English literature:

  • Art Abstracts @ Scholars Portal
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  • BHI: British Humanities Index
  • Digital Dissertations @ Scholars Portal
  • Humanities Abstracts @ Scholars Portal
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Philosopher`s Index



Medieval Studies

IMB International Medieval Bibliography e-resources

IMB is a classed bibliography with over 300,000 citations to articles on a broad range of mediaeval (400-1500 AD) subjects from journals and many collected works (Festschriften, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, and collected essays). Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance e-resources

Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays. Iter is a non-profit research project with headquarters at University of Toronto.



Nineteenth Century Studies

Nineteenth Century Masterfile e-resources

The largest resource for pre-1920 studies, with over six million citations online. Search a number of nineteenth century indexes, including the Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1906; individual periodical titles such as Harper's and Atlantic Monthly; and U. S. and British patents and government documents.



The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 e-resources

The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index lists journal contents for 45 major Victorian periodicals, identifies anonymous authors and pseudonyms, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. A list of the University of Toronto Library Wellesley holdings of these periodicals is available.

The online version of The Wellesley Index provides seamless linking between article records, contributor and pseudonym records, and periodical introductions, and includes links to article full text for selected titles in Periodicals Archive Online. Corrections and additions to Wellesley, indexed by Eileen Curran, have now been integrated in the online database.



Victorian Database Online e-resources

The Victorian Database Online provides information on books, articles and dissertations published from 1945 to the present in every field of nineteenth-century British studies, including drama, prose, poetry and fiction (as well as history, technology, science, education, philosophy, law, women's studies, art, etc.)





Please send suggestions for this guide to patricia.bellamy@utoronto.ca

print this guide